Apple Mail - Removing Messages from the Server



To have your Apple Mail remove messages from the server when you check mail (using POP), you will follow these steps:

 

  • After opening the Apple Mail program, click on "Mail" from the menu at the top.
  • Click on "Preferences"
  • Click on "Accounts" (the @ symbol)
  • If you have more than one mail account, select the one you want to work with
  • Click "Advanced"
  • Make sure the box next to "Remove copy from server after retrieving a message" is checked.
  • You can also remove messages currently saved on the server by clicking the "Remove now" button.
  • Click "Save" when you close the Preference pane

Using "Remove copy from server after retrieving a message" will make sure your messages are always downloaded to your Mac, and prevent your mailbox quota from being exceeded.

Apple Mail Remove from Server

United States remote tech supportIf you'd like help with your Apple Mail configuration, please choose from one of our services:


Back up your computer!  Don't wait until it's too late! Click to get Carbonite now!

Carbonite Silver Partner

 

Was this answer helpful?

 Print this Article

Also Read

Apple Mail SMTP Server Showing Offline

If your SMTP server in Mac Mail is showing offline you can try to force quit the mail program and...

Configuring Apple Mail

Setting up Apple Mail is a snap!All you need to know, is your email address and password, and...

Configure Apple Mail

To watch a one minute video about how to set up your Apple Mail, click here. Open Mail (click it...

Apple Mail is asking me to verify a certificate

After you've added your e-mail account to Apple Mail, you get a "Verify Certificate" notice.Why...

Powered by WHMCompleteSolution